Scholarship Programme for Diaspora Children (SPDC) Scheme

Scholarship Programme for Diaspora Children (SPDC) Scheme was previously applicable to NRIs and PIOs of 40 countries for undergraduate programmes, with the approval of EAM, the scheme has been revamped and the revised guidelines are attached. Some important changes in the scheme are highlighted below:

 i) SPDC is now applicable to 66 countries (list is enclosed)

 ii) The scheme is now applicable to four categories of applicants:

a) Persons of Indian Origin

b) Non-Resident of Indians

c) Children of Indian workers working in ECR countries

d) Children of Indian workers in ECR countries – studying in India

iii)  The number of scholarships has been increased from 100 to 150, out of which 50 seats are reserved for (c) and (d) respectively.

iv)The institutions that are covered under this scheme are:

(a) NITs, IIITs, Schools of Planning and Architecture

(b) ‘A’ Grade institutions accredited by NAAC and recognised by UGC

(c) Other institutions covered under DASA scheme.

 v) Income criteria is now applicable to all four categories.

vi) Applicants will seek scholarships after they obtain admission in the approved list of educational institutions

 vii) Ministry has developed a portal for SPDC which will enable online submission of application, processing and an alumni network. Mission will be requested to validate some of the documents submitted by applicant. The portal will “go live” shortly (we will keep Missions informed). Once the portal goes live, application can be submitted online.

The Nodal Officer for SPDC is as follows:

Name: Shri P. Bharadwaj, Deputy Secretary (OIA-II)

Tele No.: 011-24197952



List of Countries